4x4 Not Working/Actuator Problems OFFICIAL THREAD - MudInMyBlood Forums
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 124 Old 02-14-2011, 10:03 AM Thread Starter
Forum Admin.
 
Polaris425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Posts: 15,096
Images: 77
         
4x4 Not Working/Actuator Problems OFFICIAL THREAD

I made the others, Ya'll make this one. find it, link it, post it, whatever.


MIMB - The REAL "Brute Central"


www.MudInMyBlood.com We Have a Thread for That...
Polaris425 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 124 Old 02-14-2011, 10:51 AM
Trail Rider
 
TDavison116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Darlington S.C
Posts: 31
Images: 10
 
my belt acuator is making noisies and 2wd 4wd is flashing in one second intervals is there any thing i can do to the acuator or is it shot?

2008 Brute Force 750i
STOCK
2005 Brute force 750i (SOLD)
-31" Laws -14" ITP rims -fully snorkeled -HMF Pipe -Brush Guard skid plate -K&N air filter -Jet kit- Pink pri Red sec -2" lift -Moose Ignition -custom painted frame,racks -vent hose ran to bars -2000 lbs- winch -Red Corners -Red under Glow
TDavison116 is offline  
post #3 of 124 Old 02-14-2011, 11:56 AM Thread Starter
Forum Admin.
 
Polaris425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Posts: 15,096
Images: 77
         
yeah you can go read that thread that says "IS YOUR 2X4/4X4 LIGHT FLASHING?"


MIMB - The REAL "Brute Central"


www.MudInMyBlood.com We Have a Thread for That...
Polaris425 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 124 Old 05-17-2011, 10:29 AM
Newbie
 
Tire's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Topeka KS
Posts: 21
 
My bike's 2/4wd doesnt flash, it just doesnt engage at all.
no motor noise, except for the belt housing kebc making a racket when the key is turned off.
Flipping the 4wd switch does nothing bike just says 2wd.
any ideas?
Tire is offline  
post #5 of 124 Old 05-17-2011, 03:25 PM
Moderator
 
NMKawierider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NM
Posts: 6,894
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tire View Post
My bike's 2/4wd doesnt flash, it just doesnt engage at all.
no motor noise, except for the belt housing kebc making a racket when the key is turned off.
Flipping the 4wd switch does nothing bike just says 2wd.
any ideas?
Check the voltage on the switch. If its like 4.7, then check the speed sencer. If there is no voltage on the switch, then you should have a flashing 2/4wd light. If not, check the connections to the relays. They are at the back by the roll-over sencer.

Last but not least you can pull the actuator out and try it but know that the back wheels have to be moving at least 1/2 mph...amybe a tadd more to sork. That's why we check the speed sencer. Its on the clutch side at the bottom.

06 BF 750 (Silver)
EZ-Steer EPS | Elka Stage-3s | 26" Grim Reapers on 14" SS112s | Dynatek CDI | Twin Air Filter | TPI Adjustable Airbox Valves | YFZ Catch Can Mod | Perma-Cool Oil Cooler | Diamond "G" Tie Rods w/Moose Ends | EPI Pink Primary W/ Almond Secondary | PowerMadd Handguards & Mirrors | Energy Swaybar Bushings | OMI Stem Bushing | 2013 a-arms & bushings | 2012 Seat | Ricochet Armor | HL Front Bumper | Direction2 Overfenders | Moose Dual Gasser Throttle

15 ZForce 800

NMKawierider is offline  
post #6 of 124 Old 05-17-2011, 04:59 PM
Professional Mudder
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,882
       
I'd guess your switch is shorted closed or a bad speed sensor. Is the rubber boot around the switch torn? You open that circuit to engage 4wd, you close it for 2wd.
IBBruin is offline  
post #7 of 124 Old 05-17-2011, 08:16 PM
Newbie
 
Tire's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Topeka KS
Posts: 21
 
Yes the boot is torn good guesses guys.
Think that switch is fried?
I took both actuators off and cleaned them. the one on the front diff was notcieably cleaner, it might have been new? or at least newer than the engine brake one. also noticed the milky yellow brown of the case oil. it needs clanged
The front diff one had a small metal gear instead of a plastic one like the engine brake had. but i hooked wires to them and touched them both to the battery and they both went.. albiet very slowly, but that battery might not have a full 12v.
And my edit. There was a magnet that came unglued inside the engine brake one, that's what was the racket.
when I drove it after regluing the magnet, the 2wd wasnt flashing until i went down a hill then it started flashing back and forth.
Still dont think its engaging 4wd
Tire is offline  
post #8 of 124 Old 06-21-2011, 10:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 28
 
The instrument cluster says 2wd but i know its in 4wd and the switch won't disengage from 2wd - 4wd and the rubber boot IS TORE on the 2-4wd switch on the handle bar.
If it is the switch which i think it is, is there a way i could just put it on a toggle switch, i mean im sure it would work just didnt know if anyone had tryed it?
05camobrute is offline  
post #9 of 124 Old 06-22-2011, 06:36 AM
Honored Member
 
wood butcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ponchatoula louisiana
Posts: 1,311
Images: 12
   
Send a message via Yahoo to wood butcher
Yea u can change that switch with a toggle or another rocker.

06 650i brute
04 700 v force
93 monster 300
wood butcher is offline  
post #10 of 124 Old 06-22-2011, 09:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 28
 
Thanks
05camobrute is offline  
post #11 of 124 Old 07-30-2011, 09:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
 
So a non working speedo sensor will cause it not to shift as well?
zachmc is offline  
post #12 of 124 Old 11-23-2011, 02:43 PM
Newbie
 
Swamptank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
 
I have a 2005 Brute Force 750 the 4wd actuator has broke and came all to pieces. So I bought a new one thinking it would be an easy swap but when I pulled the actuator off the pin and casing has been sheared and broke off inside the casing leaving me with actuator pieces inside my diff. Also a piece of the collar that the actuator moves to engage the 4wd has broke off. So I was wondering if I would need to change that collar or would it still work fine if I just cleaned it out and put the new actuator in?
Swamptank is offline  
post #13 of 124 Old 02-17-2012, 05:56 PM
Newbie
 
Et_Tu_Brute?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
 
I had a few bumper supports fall on my 2008 Brute 650i and they landed on the 4x4 switch side of the bike. My lights are not flashing, yet when I flip the switch 4x4 does nothing. I read from above and I applied direct power to the actuator and it did nothing. Is there a cheaper fix for this rather than purchasing a new servo? or could the switch be causing the entire problem?
Et_Tu_Brute? is offline  
post #14 of 124 Old 03-01-2012, 10:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 28
 
Could be the switch or speed sensor, mines been both @ different times. Did u take the acuter off & check it with the battery directly, finally got mad with mine pushed it in 4wd with my finger in the case & put it back 2geither & left it

05 camo brute
snorkeled, Jetted, CDI, 29x12 outlaws, pink primary, almond secondary, custom bumpers, winch mount, tow hooks, hitch, & skid plates
02 660 grizzly, snorkeled, CDI/rect 27 bi/tri claws
05 Honda 400 AT, snorkeled
98 Honda 400, snorkeled, built motor, 27x12 Vampires
05camobrute is offline  
post #15 of 124 Old 03-13-2012, 04:19 PM
Newbie
 
omar302t5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 2
 
Ive done everything on mine to fix the flashing problem and found out that front differential has problems with letting water in and once that happens then it starts flashing... So when it starts flashing I just change the oil in front differential and problem fixed!!

2009 brute force 750i
stage one lift
30" silverbacks
custom fiberglass stereo system
big gun exhaust
snorkels
rt30 winch
6k hid
omar302t5 is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MudInMyBlood Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Search tags for this page

10 teryx 750 4wd not working

,
2005 arctic cat 500 four wheel drive actuator
,

2012 brute force 750 4x4 not working

,
actuator for 2005 arctic cat
,
arctic cat 4x4 accuator swap
,

arctic cat actuator problems

,

arctic cat atv 4 wheel drive problems

,

how to know if front drive accuater gaer box has failed on 2007 arctic cat 500 4x4

,
kawasaki 16172-0018 actuator how to tell if bad
,

polaris sportsman 700 4wd not working

Click on a term to search for related topics.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Official Can Am Picture Thread 650Brute Can-Am/BRP 624 04-19-2016 06:22 PM
2WD/4WD flashing? (Official help Thread) IBBruin Kawasaki 60 02-29-2016 10:42 PM
Best Kawasaki Air filter (Official Thread) BrutemanAl Kawasaki 95 09-29-2015 09:25 PM
The Official Honda Picture Thread Metal Man Honda 545 03-27-2015 07:31 PM
Official show your Cat thread!! Metal Man Arctic Cat 250 11-30-2014 05:30 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome