Timing chains need to be replaced - MudInMyBlood Forums
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 04-18-2011, 07:21 PM Thread Starter
Rollin' Deep
 
primetime1267's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 342
 
Timing chains need to be replaced

Alright guys.
I just picked up a (05 Brute 750) bike that needs some work. (valves have already been set)
I believe the timing chains need to be replaced. (have the nice rattle sound)
And when I was adjusting the valves, while rotating the motor over by hand I would hear a click, click, click sound (usually about 3 clicks) until I got to where I needed to be on the rotation.

I have been tearing up the forums trying to find some nice info on a "how-to" guide to replace the chains.

And for anyone that has tackled the job, what's the usual price for parts associated with this job and if you dropped it off at your local dealer or mechanic what was the price for that also? (how many hours does it take?)

I have heard that some guys are replacing just the tensioners and getting positive results, any truth in this?

Thanks in advance for any help..

2006 Sportsman 700 EFI---29.5 Outlaws s/s, gorilla axles, QSC clutch kit, 2" lift, snorkeled, Rad relocated
primetime1267 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 04-18-2011, 07:31 PM
Professional Mudder
 
Roboquad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Viera. Florida
Posts: 1,064
   
tensioners are the 1st choice. if your problem persists you have some of the parts you were going to buy anyway. How many miles are on it and how much mud riding. if the oil was kept up with your chains may be fine.Tensioners will take 30 min. out of your day to swap. I have asked people to swap the front and rear and their clicking problem goes away. Not to say this will work for you but it's a good first step. Hardest part on pulling chains is the flywheel puller and timing when you finish. the rest is just time in the garage. my dealer would hit you for a G note..but he's the DEVIL.........good luck.

06 modified to 660 (SRT)11.5-1
2in lift on 27in .Outlaw MST

kimpex bars /seat

3000lb winch for neighbor with an Articat
K&N intake & snorked

Moose plug & play chip

Ported/ polished heads

Trinity Exhaust



680 Straight Axle ; Cause 1/2 the Ride is on the slide!!!
Roboquad is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 04-18-2011, 07:35 PM
Honored Member
 
lilbigtonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Arcadia, FL
Posts: 3,193
     
Send a message via AIM to lilbigtonka Send a message via Yahoo to lilbigtonka
dion bro i will tackle this with you if you need me to just lemme know and yes the timing would be the biggest issue i believe.....we can do it no need to pay that much for stealership

14 Yamaha Viking on 30's
16 Yamaha Grizzly on 31's

2000 Honda 300FW
The Submarine nuff said

08 Brute Force 750 SOLD
10 420 SOLD bulletproof bike
lilbigtonka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 Old 04-18-2011, 08:09 PM Thread Starter
Rollin' Deep
 
primetime1267's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 342
 
The bike has 398 hours and about 1400 miles, give or take... The oil changes, who knows, I just bought the bike from "Speedman" here on the forums 2 weeks ago.....

I couldn't hear the timing chain noise over the loud valves that needed to be adjusted.

I'll order the tensioners this week and go from there..
If I need to do the chains, does someone have a complete parts list they could share with me so I don't miss something while ordering.

I also have someone that works at my local dealer that would do the job for me on the side. He said whatever I need, he would charge less than half to do it.

2006 Sportsman 700 EFI---29.5 Outlaws s/s, gorilla axles, QSC clutch kit, 2" lift, snorkeled, Rad relocated
primetime1267 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 04-19-2011, 06:29 AM
Gettin Muddy
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Meridian MS
Posts: 246
 
when I went into replace my chains, only really the oil pump one was bad, all my tensioners were good. I put a new oil pump chain tensioner spring in to be safe, it was like $2, a new oil pump was only like $10(the gears), so other than the high comp pistons, it really only was like $150ish If I remember right.

not really a "hard" job, just time consuming, and yes the timing is alittle tricky, just go step by step in the manual, and you will get it.
racinjason is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 04-19-2011, 08:24 PM Thread Starter
Rollin' Deep
 
primetime1267's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 342
 
I stopped in at my dealer today and ordered up some tensioners. Lets hope that this will fix the issue. I got a price quote for everything and they really give me a nice discount on all of the parts. I think I am paying like 74 for each tensioner and like 230 if I need all the chains, guides, tensioners, gaskets, etc....

The tensioners should be in this Friday, so hopefully I get some free time this weekend to slap them in.

2006 Sportsman 700 EFI---29.5 Outlaws s/s, gorilla axles, QSC clutch kit, 2" lift, snorkeled, Rad relocated
primetime1267 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 04-19-2011, 08:29 PM
Honored Member
 
lilbigtonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Arcadia, FL
Posts: 3,193
     
Send a message via AIM to lilbigtonka Send a message via Yahoo to lilbigtonka
I hope this fixes everything man it is time to have the brute running immaculate

14 Yamaha Viking on 30's
16 Yamaha Grizzly on 31's

2000 Honda 300FW
The Submarine nuff said

08 Brute Force 750 SOLD
10 420 SOLD bulletproof bike
lilbigtonka is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 04-19-2011, 08:33 PM Thread Starter
Rollin' Deep
 
primetime1267's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 342
 
I got my OEM belt yesterday finally, so it will be going in this week also. I'm still waiting for the dash pod cover to arrive from Chris. He said he mailed it last Thursday........

And I'm waiting for some other parts from Ronayers, wow, they take for ever..

2006 Sportsman 700 EFI---29.5 Outlaws s/s, gorilla axles, QSC clutch kit, 2" lift, snorkeled, Rad relocated
primetime1267 is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 04-20-2011, 03:39 PM Thread Starter
Rollin' Deep
 
primetime1267's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 342
 
To replace just the tensoiners, do I have to be lined up on each cylinder first? I don't think the manual says anything about that, either that they automatically assume you will be tdc to do the chains already. Thx

2006 Sportsman 700 EFI---29.5 Outlaws s/s, gorilla axles, QSC clutch kit, 2" lift, snorkeled, Rad relocated
primetime1267 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 04-20-2011, 04:10 PM
Experienced Mudder
 
brute for mud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 620
Images: 3
 
Send a message via Yahoo to brute for mud
Quote:
Originally Posted by primetime1267 View Post
To replace just the tensoiners, do I have to be lined up on each cylinder first? I don't think the manual says anything about that, either that they automatically assume you will be tdc to do the chains already. Thx
my guess would be yes you do because it may have jumped because of the chains being to loose

09 brute 750
Full armor /3k warn winch griffin performance 840 big bore and his cams
Full swamp series exhaust mimb 3" snorkels

Last edited by brute for mud; 04-20-2011 at 07:11 PM.
brute for mud is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 04-20-2011, 08:28 PM
Professional Mudder
 
Roboquad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Viera. Florida
Posts: 1,064
   
no TDC. The tensioners are spring loaded you just set them in and they will auto adjust to the proper length. this is how they will keep the bike going as the bike wears. Be careful when you take the center bolt out there is a small piece of metal inside the spring for alignment don't drop it. it is as easy as 6 bolts in and out. However if you ever pull the cam covers the tensioners will need to come out and be put back after the caps are back on. If not they will lift the back of the cam and cause some nasty wear to the heads.

06 modified to 660 (SRT)11.5-1
2in lift on 27in .Outlaw MST

kimpex bars /seat

3000lb winch for neighbor with an Articat
K&N intake & snorked

Moose plug & play chip

Ported/ polished heads

Trinity Exhaust



680 Straight Axle ; Cause 1/2 the Ride is on the slide!!!
Roboquad is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 04-20-2011, 08:51 PM
Gettin Muddy
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Meridian MS
Posts: 246
 
^agreed
racinjason is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 04-21-2011, 05:56 AM
Professional Mudder
 
drtj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tifton Ga
Posts: 1,026
 


Take some pics of how its done & a little how-to on it

06 750 Green Brute
29.5 Laws
Red Secondary
Moose Module
MIMB Snorkels
Front and Rear bumper Guards
Custom Dents and Scratches
drtj is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 04-21-2011, 05:45 PM Thread Starter
Rollin' Deep
 
primetime1267's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 342
 
OKay guys, just so I get this straight, tomorrow afternoon/evening. I'm going to just ride my bike into my garage, turn it off, reach down & loosen up the 3 bolts for each tensioner and slap in the new ones. No more, no less (and torque of course)... Right??

And crack a cold one and pray that the tensioners take away the little bit of chain noise I have.

Man, I love this site!!!

Ohh yeah, I'll try to snap some pics or video of the process.

2006 Sportsman 700 EFI---29.5 Outlaws s/s, gorilla axles, QSC clutch kit, 2" lift, snorkeled, Rad relocated
primetime1267 is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 04-22-2011, 01:18 PM Thread Starter
Rollin' Deep
 
primetime1267's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 342
 
Alright guys, I just pulled the rear tensioner and the adjusted was not out all the way. I placed both springs side by side In The bolt and the old spring was a tad shorter. I'll do the front tonight.
I also called 2 kawasaki dealers and both agreed that when removing tensioners you should be on tdc just like doing valves. If not you may cause it to jump timing....
primetime1267 is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MudInMyBlood Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Search tags for this page

2005 brute force 750 bad cam chain tensioner

,

2006 brute force cam chain miles

,

2006 kawasaki brute force 750 cam chain issuses

,
brute force 650 cam chains what do i need
,

brute force 650 timing chain replacement

,
brute force 750 cam chain broke
,

brute force 750 timing chain

,

brute force 750 timing chains

,
cam chain 05 750 brute force
,

how much play should kawasaki brute force 750 cam chains have

Click on a term to search for related topics.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lets learn about timing chains!! cattracks87 Arctic Cat 6 03-03-2011 12:26 PM
changing the timing chains wood butcher Kawasaki 8 10-26-2010 06:17 PM
How easy is it to replace cam chains? Floyd Kawasaki 8 07-27-2010 07:44 PM
Replaced the RZR with a CREW family adventure Polaris 17 01-29-2010 11:25 AM
timing chains jackman Kawasaki 18 03-10-2009 07:21 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome