08 brute force 750 help needed! - MudInMyBlood Forums
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 02-14-2016, 09:48 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 9
 
08 brute force 750 help needed!

So I've read all the other forums and my brute seems to be doing multiple of one thing and it just has me all confused! So I'll start by saying I bought the brute two weeks ago and the guy told me it sputtered at first but after a while it ran fine, yes I know I shouldn't have bought it, but we went and rode for a day and sure enough it sputters and back fires and has no power! But in neutral it revs fine and randomly it drives perfect for a couple of min then starts back sputtering with no power! So I replace the spark plugs, reset belt light, replaced battery, and it still does the same thing. But now I was starting the process of working on it today and just took off all the plastic and bumpers and when I go to start it, the brute won't start!!!! While it's turning over the fi light is flashing! Should I just change the fuel pump or try something else first!?!? Help please we have a huge group going to ride this weekend and I don't won't to miss it! Thanks in advanced
Kawi gang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 02-15-2016, 05:48 AM
Backwoodz Boggerz
 
rmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: perkinston ms./ jonesboro ar.
Posts: 1,580
Images: 15
   
i would start by getting a manual, become a subscribing member an down load the manual here in maps an manuals

06, 650i,sleeved to 85mm fst 11.5/1, fststage 2 cams, intakes polished, ex ports opened up, hl springs, 29.5 laws itp rims,rad relocate with brush guard, 3in center snorkels(home made), ,custom 4 gage cluster (oil temp,oilpress,water temp,an return oil temp), full hmf ex,4000lb warn winch, backup light with brush guard, front mounted recevier hitch,rmax manual 4wd,oilcooler, ez steer by satvcustom cut clutches
rmax is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 02-15-2016, 06:20 AM
Moderator
 
NMKawierider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NM
Posts: 7,275
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmax View Post
i would start by getting a manual, become a subscribing member an down load the manual here in maps an manuals
Agreed. There are some trouble-shooters in it that will help. Also, the fuel pump is a common problem with the 08s as well as plugged intake screens and filters. You can do the fuel pressure and volume test as well.

06 BF 750 (Silver) SOLD
15 Z Force 800 EPS


My Videos on You Tube
NMKawierider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 Old 02-15-2016, 09:14 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 9
 
Thanks, I plan on doing the fuel test tomorrow and will probably try replacing the screen and filter before buying a whole new pump if that's it! This just kills me because I've only been working on four wheelers for 4 years now but It's mainly been Hondas and I can tear one completely down and put it back together in no time but this thing has just blown my mind!
Kawi gang is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 02-15-2016, 04:21 PM
Rollin' Deep
 
skid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: smithers, british columbia
Posts: 416
 
have you checked all the relays under the seat towards the back of the atv? About 1 1/2 years ago my 08 was doing the same thing, i started with the basics and went from there, and what i found was one of the relays was completely corroded and the wires had fallen out. I have also gone through 2 fuse boxes, moisture gets in and can sometimes cause a short and it burns the wiring out. I have since removed the fuse box and now rewired so each fuse is in its own seperate water tight connection. My sputtering and back firing was because of the main fuse shorting out, and my no start issue was the fuel pump relay. Hopefully this helps you, let us know how it turns out.

08 BRUTE FORCE 750i
Full Big Gun exhaust
2" lift
2" wheel spacers
MIMB Snorkeled
2 rebuilt engines
MSD on the way
Relocated Rad
rox bar risers and dash relocate
14" ITP 212's w/ 28" swamplites
skid is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 02-15-2016, 04:42 PM
Professional Mudder
 
2010Bruterider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Crystal Springs, MS
Posts: 1,398
Images: 29
 
Send a message via AIM to 2010Bruterider
Make sure the roll over sensor is mounted properly. It's at the very back of the electronics tray under the seat and has "up" on it. I think the manual calls it "vehicle down" sensor.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2010 Brute 750. 29.5 OG s/w laws, VFJ stage 3, Kujo uppers, ASR lowers, rmax manual 4x4 (love it), full HMF exhaust w/snorkle, ODI Rogue grips, Viper 4500 winch, 55w HIDs, ASR tie rods, Gorilla axles, RDC 2" lift, MSD, MIMB 3" center snorkel and MIMB rad relocate.
2010Bruterider is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 02-16-2016, 04:59 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 9
 
So I did the fuel line test and it was doing 1.7 oz per key turn like it's supposed to and when we got everything back in place we decided to go ahead and clean all the relays! (they had mud and water in them) so we plugged everything back in and when we turn the key two of the relays just clicked and the fuel pump wouldn't engage. So we try multiple times with the same out come. Went to palmetto cycle and they had the two that was clicking so I ordered them. Hopefully that will fix it! But I will still like to here everyone's input on what they think or if they've had this problem! Thanks
Kawi gang is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 02-16-2016, 05:29 PM
Professional Mudder
 
2010Bruterider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Crystal Springs, MS
Posts: 1,398
Images: 29
 
Send a message via AIM to 2010Bruterider
The amount of flow doesn't tell you everything you need to know. You need to measure the fuel pressure. Remove the factory fuel line. It is a hard plastic tube inside a rubber sleeve, don't cut it. Get a long piece of fuel line and install a pressure gauge inline. It must be at least 43 psi or the bike will bog and cut out under throttle.
Mine was cutting out above 1/2 throttle, I checked it and only had 37 psi. I changed the pump motor and removed the internal metal screen also changed the sock filter on the bottom. Added an inline filter from a 2010 mustang and It went up to 47 psi. No more stumble.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2010 Brute 750. 29.5 OG s/w laws, VFJ stage 3, Kujo uppers, ASR lowers, rmax manual 4x4 (love it), full HMF exhaust w/snorkle, ODI Rogue grips, Viper 4500 winch, 55w HIDs, ASR tie rods, Gorilla axles, RDC 2" lift, MSD, MIMB 3" center snorkel and MIMB rad relocate.
2010Bruterider is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 02-16-2016, 07:56 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 9
 
Well I'm replacing the fuel pump and screen, also the relays, and installing a gas line vent hose for the vent. All this should be finished by Sunday hopefully! And I'll let y'all know how it goes. Also on mine the two 4 pin connector you use to reset the belt light (black and Grey), well I only have the black so I have to use a wire to recircut it through to reset it. Well today one of the wires on the connector broke will that make a big deal on how it runs? The belt light is still off so I wouldn't think so
Kawi gang is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 02-17-2016, 06:50 AM
Moderator
 
NMKawierider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NM
Posts: 7,275
           
Why not just fix it.

06 BF 750 (Silver) SOLD
15 Z Force 800 EPS


My Videos on You Tube
NMKawierider is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 02-17-2016, 03:07 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 9
 
By replacing I mean I'm taking apart the housing and changing the pump and sock inside it
Kawi gang is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 02-17-2016, 04:13 PM
Moderator
 
NMKawierider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NM
Posts: 7,275
           
I meant the broken wire.

06 BF 750 (Silver) SOLD
15 Z Force 800 EPS


My Videos on You Tube
NMKawierider is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 02-26-2016, 05:25 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 9
 
So I changed the fuel pump, the battery and spark plugs and when I finished installing now the screen won't even cut on and one out of 100 key turns it will cut on and the fuel pump wouldn't engage the relays just clicked so I bought new ones because the old ones were going to go bad if they already wasn't anyways. Well installed those and the same thing is going on, the screen won't cut on and every so often it will. Replaced all the fuses with new ones, checked the voltage for all wire components they are all good. Took it to my towns atv mechanic and he looked at it for two days and thinks that it's probably the ecu and thinks I need a new one. So I'm going to take it to a actual atv shop and let them charge me out the tail to look at it before I buy that cpu unless y'all have any other ideas. Oh and when the screen does cut on if I hit the ignition button nothing happens but if I touch +\- on starter it turns over. And when it was running before the speedo would be reading 5 and 10 mph while I was sitting in neutral. Really depressing missing out on so many rides someone please help.
Kawi gang is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 02-26-2016, 08:28 AM
Moderator
 
NMKawierider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NM
Posts: 7,275
           
Take it in. Too many variables.

06 BF 750 (Silver) SOLD
15 Z Force 800 EPS


My Videos on You Tube
NMKawierider is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 02-27-2016, 07:29 AM
Professional Mudder
 
2010Bruterider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Crystal Springs, MS
Posts: 1,398
Images: 29
 
Send a message via AIM to 2010Bruterider
Pull your fuse block. Turn it over and look at the wires where they go in the bottom. You may find a broken wire. I suggest adding a few waterproof fuse holders and doing away with the factory fuse block completely.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2010 Brute 750. 29.5 OG s/w laws, VFJ stage 3, Kujo uppers, ASR lowers, rmax manual 4x4 (love it), full HMF exhaust w/snorkle, ODI Rogue grips, Viper 4500 winch, 55w HIDs, ASR tie rods, Gorilla axles, RDC 2" lift, MSD, MIMB 3" center snorkel and MIMB rad relocate.
2010Bruterider is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MudInMyBlood Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wtb 08 brute force starter gears,exhaust Bf1 Want to Buy 5 02-15-2016 07:34 PM
brute force eating belts help ryanharrington827 General Tech. & Audio Info. 6 02-11-2016 05:25 AM
Snorkels for sale from came off my 2005 brute force Dkh100 For Sale/Trade 0 02-10-2016 09:49 AM
Brute Force 750 nFlow nFLOW Motorsports 0 01-27-2016 03:27 PM
2005 Brute Force Rear Differential HELP svtcobra43 Kawasaki 7 01-20-2016 03:12 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome