Mud in My Blood Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry if this has been covered several times. I am new at this and tried to search around for the topic. I have found where it was almost addressed but not quite.

I will be driving my '05 650 Brute Force with no problems and after a while I will notice my 4X4 indicator flashing back and forth from 2WD to 4WD and back. If I turn it off it will usually stop the flashing. I don't notice any change in performance on the vehicle when it is flashing. I've done a lot of work on cars, but not so much on the ATV's but I'm wanting to learn.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Breaker of things
1,456 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,798 Posts
I love this site :yup:

·
Premium Member
6,767 Posts
Sweet :D it's my homepage too :)

bsmallee - I'm willing to bet its your KEBC actuator. Do you hear it buzzing when you key off?

The information from KMKjr looks like it needs correction. From memory i recall a ½ second interval for 4wd actuator, 1 second for KEBC and 2 for both.

If it turns out to be the KEBC actuator Ive cleaned quite a few with good results. heck, i may do a video to point out the things to do when you take it apart.

·
Registered
1,882 Posts

If it turns out to be the KEBC actuator Ive cleaned quite a few with good results. heck, i may do a video to point out the things to do when you take it apart.
I say do away with the KEBC actuator. The engine will still brake the machine. The only time I've noticed any difference is when I start going down a hill, if you let your engine return to idle, it will start to free wheel and pick up speed. I know it sound strange but in order to stop the free wheel, just give it a little throttle and the clutch engages and it slows ya down.

Unless you live in the mountains or do lots of trail riding on steep hills, the KEBC system is not needed.

·
Breaker of things
1,456 Posts