Mud in My Blood Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a noob....so go easy on me. Phreebsd (thanks again)posted some 05 Prairie manuals and they have been a very big help. I 've read it through top to bottom. I'm mechanically inclined so I can just about fix anything. Here we go.

I have an 02 650 Prairie. According to the 05 manuals, they are virtually identical. This 4-wheeler went underwater from Hurricane IKE. I found it upside down in the shop. It had been under for about 2 days before I could get to it. The salt ate up the carbs that was on it. I just put some used ones from EBAY for 150.00. They were in perfect shape. Pulled the bowls to check. They fired up first crank. Now I have a big black stain on the wall behind it because there was a little water left in the pipes and when it fired up, it looked like a giant squid erupted.

Ok, now that is runs fairly decent. I put it in gear, but it doesn't move. I removed the drive belt cover and I can tell the salt made the pulleys all white and frosty. I have a feeling the torque converter is froze up. I plan on taking it apart just to lube it up. It looks simple enough in the manual, but it doesn't say danger, warning, springs will fly everywhere. I have read alot of you guys changing springs with different colors so somebody must know alot about these things. I'm basically looking for hits and tips on how to strip one down withotu taking it to the Kawie shop. What do I need? A vise and a screwdriver and maybe a hammer?

Last, I don't hear the buzzing of the EBC when I shut off the bike. Even though the cover was off and the EBC and the belt fail was plugged in. Can I ride this bike with the EBC disabled or not working? Since the 4 wheeler is running, and the brakes are good, I would like to just get the torque converter going and ride.