Mud in My Blood Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys new to the page have heard nothing but good things just purchased a 2021 brute force 750i.I’ve had a couple of brute forces but have never lifted them. I want to run 28s do I have to lift it 2” if I run 29.5 would a 2” clear them. How much lift will I gain just turning the springs up? When clutching using epi clutch kit if I run 28s will the trial kit be sufficient enough if I did happen to pull off in some mud or should I run the mudder kit? Sorry to sound all over the place just trying to weigh out all options and be as thorough as possible. Thanks

·
Registered
65 Posts
I have no experience with brutes (yami guy) so take what I say with a grain of salt..

You shouldn't need to lift a machine that size to run 28s. I ran 28s all last year on my 450 kodiak, which is dimensionally smaller than a brute and I had no issues.

Cranking MY shocks gave me about an inch.

I THINK I've read people with brutes say they can fit a 30" no problem.

Usually (at least with Yamahas) a clutch kit from epi is a waste of money. Most people get by just fine by shimming the primary clutch and changing to a stiffer secondary. Total cost=40$ compared to the 200+ epi wants for their kit containing stuff you don't really need.

Someone more... or rather... knowledgeable period with brutes should chime in eventually.

·
Administrator
15,514 Posts
you shouldn't need a lift for 28's. you will want them for 29.5's though. Turning the springs up won't really lift the bike that much, just make the ride stiffer. I would call VFJ (John) for springs... there's another thread somewhere here recently with his contact info in it.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·